Farmaticus

By TBay

Married in the snow.

My mother and father were married in Hexham Abbey in 1945 and would have been married for 76 years today. I love this group picture. My fathers best man was his cousin who had been wounded at Arnhem and was home on leave. The little flower girl is fellow blipper hazelh’s mother ! It must have been a very chilly day but did make a lovely setting for the pictures. Lovely to look at this wonderful image of them .

 The dress was worn originally by my grandmother in 1910 and was then altered for my mother to wear. It was then later worn by two of my grandmothers nephews wife before being altered and worn by my cousin in the 60’s. nest i then altered this dress again and took it back to how my mother had it and wore it for my wedding in 1983. Then in 1991 ( I think!) it was worn by a fourth generation! Quite a history. So far 7 Brides have used this lovely dress! 

Little Miss was with us today being home schooled. It was a joint effort today as I had to go for a blood test half way though the morning. Between us we covered the digraph ar , read a book and learned all about Saturn!  Oh and we also did art as well. Not a bad days work really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.