Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Phase One Complete

We began photographing Sue’s clay work on November 15, 2020. We finished on January 23, 2021 with this sculpture Sue made in the 1980s for her mother, who was a devout Roman Catholic. It’s fifteen inches tall, so it was too large for the light box, but I’m happy with the result. I expected the photography to take much longer. We have over 579 individual photographs of her masks, sculptures, vessels, tiles, beads, and masks. 

Now I’m doing interviews with Sue, transcribing what she says about her process, intentions, and inspirations. She is doing some writing, and we’re both trying to keep it brief but make it clear. We’ll edit the writing into consistent form, as concise as we can make it, and I’ll build a book and then give it to her for final editing. It will be a big book, and I expect working on it will carry me into the spring. I love the challenge of it. I imagine it being for Sue's unborn great-grandchildren; she laughs at that and says she'll just do it for herself, and if it survives into the future, it can be for anyone who sees it. 

Thank you for all your ideas, encouragement, and suggestions about transportation and the transition to carlessness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.