Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Sick, but in good spirits

Evan is a delight. He's sneezing and coughing, has a slurpy nose and low energy. It's raining steadily, day after day, and he told me all the things we can't do. He said, "Well, we can't go to a playground. We can't go to the park. We can't go to the forest. My brain is mixed up, and my body is heavy. So let's just do some drawing." 

He drew a picture of a snail in the snow, and then a "Morning Tiger" (I don't think he meant "Mourning Tiger") climbing a snowy mountain. We played his favorite game, Obstacles. We even played a half-hearted game of Chutes and Ladders on the floor, but then he put his head down on the carpet. 

For the first time since I have been spending Baba Days with him, he was willing to lie down for a while and rest with the iPad. But when he saw me and the camera, he couldn't resist smiling and flashing a thumbs up. He makes my heart happy.

In other news, Sue had a surprise visit from her twin brother, and his wife made a photograph of the two of them. I can't imagine having a twin. I have a number of half-siblings, but none of us are very close. Sue's family's closeness has been a revelation to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.