If it's Tuesday, it must be Flamenco!

I forgot to mention I had a delightful Monday with Margie yesterday before the march--marred by a man running with a dolly full of packages who ran us down in a crosswalk and would have possibly killed Margie if I hadn't been there to catch her as he ran into her cane and knocked her shoulder, pushing her off balance. She would certainly have fallen down in the street, but I caught her and yelled "Stop!" at the man. He did stop but didn't apologize. Instead he asked, stupidly as people do, "Are you OK?" Margie was so disoriented she couldn't speak, and I yelled "No!" as he reoriented his packages and ran on. 

Afterwards I thought it's the gig economy to blame for that. He's no doubt under great pressure to deliver those packages on a time schedule, and he's underpaid, has no health insurance, no sick days, no mercy. I hate what the world has come to, as a result of unchecked capitalism and severe income inequality.

Bree Newsome tweeted yesterday, "I want everyone to understand that homelessness is a feature of the housing market. Not a bug. Not an unfortunate byproduct. It’s a deliberate process of denying ppl access to a basic necessity of life in order to create false scarcity in the market & enrich the ownership class." Well said.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.