Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

Dry start to the day

It is if you are Jnr Jnr - breakfast currently consists of a small bowl of Cheerios (no milk) eaten by hand and a rice cake. Oh, and Sheepy of course. Weirdo.



There was a match at The Lane tonight, but for the first time I didn't go, even though I was in Sheffield!!! Unheard of to be honest. The reason being was I bought a ticket to see Justin Currie at the City Hall. I went to see him last week in Kendal with a very good friend, and was so blown away, I just had to see him again. Yes, my adoration for the man overtook my desire to see the Blades (don't tell Mrs H as that puts her third now!).

I have always been a HUGE fan of his songwriting and vocal ability, and to see him perform solo, acoustically and taking requests from the audience was something I did not want to miss. Since late 1989, his music has always been in my life and the songs are often attached, as if by threads, to distant memories of people and places past. Hearing the range of them played in one evening kind of wove things together, bringing many events from the last 24 years back to mind.

Clearly as a fan bordering on hero-worship I am biased, but it does say a lot about the music industry that many gifted artists like him can go largely unnoticed, yet manufactured products that lace the Top 40 are seen by the masses to be what constitutes talent. True richness and passion from individuals with the life experience, desire and gift to produce such lyrics/music is a far better achievement worthy of respect than invented bands/singers, put together by teams of corporate designers to keep the cash flowing. I know that the ratio of money-making to genuine musicians has always swung back and forth for decades, but (middle-aged comment klaxon) it does seem to me that there is more manufactured stuff these days.

Rant over.

I was wanting to get a shot of him to Blip, but I was sat right next to the exit, under a light and the watchful eye of the doorman. With the recorded message of "THERE IS A STRICT NO PHOTOGRAPHY POLICY" played just before he came on, and the NO CAMERA warning signs everywhere meant the SLR stayed in my bag as I didn't fancy getting thrown out. This is a great example of the man at work - lovely.

Oh, and the Blades drew 0-0, so even more the right decision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.