Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Back to School

05.01.21
MIss E's first day not back at school today. She managed to get up for registration at 8.50am which was a bit of a shock to her system I think. To show a bit of moral support I got up to make myself a cup of tea and give her a big "yay" for getting up in time.
Then I went back to bed!!
I didn't really do very much until 3pm and then burst into action walking down to the post office to post some eBay parcels. During the last lockdown I relied on Hermes coming to collect parcels from the porch, this time I've decided to take them to the post office which feels very safe. They allow four people in at a time - which has actually morphed into only three at at time as people only go in when they can see that one of the three staff are free. If necessary there's a queue down the lane outside and everyone stands  about five metres apart with masks on! So all in all, pretty safe!
I power walked back up the hill home and was on the verge of collapse by the time I got here. And boiling! I may need to rethink the fleece lined trousers, Arctic padded jacket, fleece lined woolly hat and giant woollen scarf when I walk into town.
Luckily the tea fairy appeared when I was frantically ripping all my layers off and collapsing on the sofa. 
Tea makes everything better.
Miss E came down this afternoon and announced she had to make a pinhole camera and send her teacher a picture of the projected image. She was trying to pretend she thought it was the biggest waste of time ever. Why make a camera when you have one in your back pocket?!!!! But Mr K and I got very excited and clearly thought it was super cool and we told her just to make it and we'd do the actual photography part. We never ever do their crafty homework for them - they can make their own bloody model planets and papier mache spoons  - but this sounded much more exciting!! Obviously that made Miss E much more enthusiastic and she brought it down once it was dark and we got lighting the candles. It WORKED!!!!!!!!!
You'd think we'd split the atom I was so dumbfounded! See extras for an upside down image of the candle flame. It doesn't photograph well (stupid twenty-first century technology!) but it was clearer in real life. Amazing! 
Last night I had to text Mr K when I'd gone up to bed to ask was he cooking something (unlikely at any time of day but even more so at 11pm........) He wasn't. I asked him was he definitely not making toast as it smelt so strong. Nope.
This morning I read an article about people with Long Covid who think things smell of burning or petrol, or that everything tastes of fish.
Thankfully everything has tasted and smelt normal today so it was obviously just a weird aberration. Or the neighbours were having some late night toast in the garden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.