Gitama's World

By Gitama

Australia or Invasion Day...&...

the boy frolicking in the creek.

It was a hot day so this afternoon we drove to the creek at the bottom of Wollumbin.
It was shady and cool ...the kids frolicked ...I took pics and sat quietly musing upon and wondering how in the hell can we celebrate today.

I wont go into it but it really is a smack in the face for our Indigenous folk.
We noticed that the pub was full by all the cars parked along the street...Auzzies in there knocking back the schooners of beer....there were probably a lot throwing prawns on the BBQ elsewhere....who knows.
Look ......no judgement here...(well just a bit)....I scratch my head at it all and these Australian rituals.

Anyway Ive had a little rant....the reality for me was.......it was lovely sitting down by the creek taking pics of our beautiful boy (with bucket loads of attitude).... finding pink Kwondong fruit (fallen to early from the trees) that had fallen into the crystal clear water which had saturated the subtle colours of the rocks they were nestle amongst.

My appreciation for our beautiful bushland pulsed in me as my eyes fell upon the graceful roots of trees finding their way down into the sandy soil...the reflections of the palm trees in the water....and the sound...when I closed my eyes the gurgling of water  soothed me and brought much joy almost as much as the laughter and delight from the boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.