HE'S ON HIS WAY!

Just over a week ago a Blip friend asked if I would knit a Teddy bear with scrubs and mask.  I am always up for a challenge, so I looked on the internet and found this little bear.  Fortunately, I had enough wool in fawn and green, so I started knitting.

I got on very well and planned to sew it up and stuff it yesterday.  WOW, what a job that proved to be!  It took about 4 hours in total;  it should only have taken 3½ hours but I stitched the trousers up the wrong way so had to unpick them and start all over again!  That will teach me to look and read twice and stitch once!

However, before anyone asks, I won’t be taking orders, because whilst sewing it up, the middle finger on my right hand started to trigger again, something that it hasn’t done for a few weeks now, and I am sure it’s because of the way I had to hold the small sewing needle and it was really painful to straighten it each time.  However, I might try and adapt the pattern I found so that I could just knit the outfit, which wouldn’t involve so much sewing up.

I did take a photograph before I put HCB Bear into his box - kindly provided by a neighbour - and thought I would make a triptych, which is just a posh name for a three-fold work of art, to show you how a mask should be worn properly. 

The first one shows the correct way that "many" people wear their mask, the second how “many other" people wear theirs and the third shows how the “remainder of the many” wear theirs.  So please be sensible, people, and wear yours correctly.  In other words, be a smart HCB Bear!

The snow has almost gone but having just been over to the Post Office to send HCB Bear on his way, I got very cold, so won’t be going out walking today.  I’m grateful we have a lovely warm home, so think I will do some knitting and perhaps watch a film.  

“Knitting is still trying to teach me
     that no matter how well you knit, 
          looking at your work too closely
               isn't helpful.
It's like kissing with your eyes open: 
     nobody looks good 
          that close up.” 
Stephanie Pearl-McPhee : Things I Learned From Knitting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.