MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Not the prettiest photo

It was raining hard this morning with a bitter wind and I couldn't decide where to go for a walk but eventually decided to drive the 1.5 miles to Sherdley Park and walk around it in the woodland areas, hopefully getting a little shelter from the wind at least. Plus my car has not moved for some time so could do with a spin.
I drove to the car park near the golf club and sat in my car wondering whether to go home as it was chucking down. I then droveto the other side of the park to the car park near the driving range.
Wow. It must have been badly flooded here as the landscape had changed and there were 2 huge ditches (presumably for drainage) which were not there before.
I wasn't feeling much like a walk but set off and I was walking against the rain and wind at first which was not pleasant but then when I turned right into the top woodland what a difference - no wind hardly and the rain seemed to be less hard.
Trotted through there and around the pond and eventually made my way over to the woodland area nearer to the driving range.
This was a shock as the landscape here was dramatically altered since my last visit before the flooding. Paths had collapsed and a low bridge had vanished. It was clear that a lot of remedial work had been carried out including the new "bridge" in the photo. I went over this pretty fast and when I had to come back the same way I ran over it as it was very unstable!
Some paths were still impassable ie flooded or deep mud. I tried to get through one area and was in danger of getting stuck in the mud so I beat a hasty retreat. Another area I had to leave the flooded and muddy path to walk through trees and lots of places looked really different from how they usually look.
It has rained all day again so I hope that the remedial work doesn't become undone by further flooding.
The news today has been sad with the deaths from covid passing the 100,000 mark in our country.
My daughter gets her first vaccination today (she is a keyworker for vulnerable adults with mental health problems).
People are posting on facebook that they've booked holidays abroad for Apriil and May! Words fail me.
Feeling wet but not too bad considering and certainly glad I ventured out, but feeling sad about the deaths and hoping for better times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.