Shamoo at Sea World San Diego

Today I had a bit of an adventure trying to get gas and do a bit of shopping before returning the car we rented yesterday. Somehow my inner map went haywire. I was turned around 180 degrees and began by driving down a road that did not go through contrary to Google Earth. Then I went the wrong direction on Park Blvd and when I realized I turned and headed the right way. We did get gas but again my directional sense was out of kilter and we ended up skipping shopping. Luckily I was able to reorient myself and get the car back to the Marriott safely.

After we left off the car we took a taxi to Sea World. That was an odd trip too because it was the driver's first day. He was from Ethiopia and didn't speak a great deal of English. We did get there and to tell you the truth, he's lucky he had us as passengers. We didn't argue over the fare or give him a hard time. Instead we wished him well in his new career and life here in the US.

Arvin's leg is giving him a hard time so we hoped to do as little walking as possible. Er... not quite. But we had a great day. We went to "The Story of Shamu" a 45 minute presentation about the killer whales at the park. The show was wonderful and I took lots of photos and videos of the orcas. One highlight was a baby with its mother who was just 13 days old. How amazingly cool! Take a look at leaping Shamu in large. "L"

After that we went to the Blue Horizons show which featured dolphins, birds and a troop of amazing young women and men who did aerial acts. Several also rode the backs of the dolphins and a whale. Wow! Took video and photos of that show too. At the end of the day we went back to the Shamu pavilion and saw most of another orca show. We both loved all the shows. Wonderful day.

You can see more pictures of today's visit to Sea World on Chaikins of Bellingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.