Life on the go

By BarryBadcock

Slide Rules Okay

Slide Rules Okay
During the massive tidy up I started yesterday I found the instructions manuals for my Slide Rules. The manuals have been 'missing in action' for a long while. I found the slide rules quite a while ago and put them in my desk draw.  The Celluloid wooden slide rule, I am holding, is Made by A.W. Faber-Castell a German Manufacturer  and is the 1961 version of a 1937 design. This was my second slide rule, my parents gave me my first on while I was at School circa 1962 I think it was a Thornton but cannot remember. This Faber-Castell model dates from around 1966 when I started The Cambridge College of Arts and Technology (CCAT). My wooden slide rule back, The Stock or Body, is in two parts to that are jointed together via 5 spring steel strips. These strips hold the slide in place. To move the slide you position your hand as I am holding it in the picture, and flex the two pars of the stock apart. Interesting 'Mussel Memory here, I stopped using slide rules in my job in the late 70's when I bought my first Scientific Calculator. When I took the slide rule out of its box today my left hand moved into the position shown 'automatically'

The way I am going on about this slide rule shows the 'Nerd in Me'. 

The other rule in the photo is a British Thornton AA 010 Comprehensive Slide rule and boasts being the companies most comprehensive slide rule with 27 different scales (I did not know that until a few minuets ago when I looked it up in the internet). The only reason I bought this was because it was the recommended Slide Rule for a course I took. I cannot remember which course but I think it dates from when I took and extra Maths evening class over three years in parallel with my electronics day release course. 

Anyway now slide rules and manuals are together again I might relearn the principles of use for a bit of fun.

You should also note that I have done two calculations, one on each of the slide rules, and the answer in both cases is 42 :)

Day 295 of Project 365

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.