a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Squirrel!

WildWednesday:  Squirrel!

If you've seen the film "Up" you will probably be saying this in you own head in a very particular way.

I gather that the Government are considering putting the grey squirrel on the pill, in order to reduce their numbers.  Well, if not the pill certainly an oral contraceptive of some sort.  If it actually encouraged the native red squirrel to thrive then I would be all in favour :-)

It has been very damp and drizzley here.  As a result the light was very poor  for outdoor photography so I was rather pleased to get this squirrel in passing on my walk this morning.  Its wet again tomorrow so it may well be  a day for indoor photography.

Today is of course Holocaust Memorial Day.  I still remember my visit to Auschwitz and the feelings of shock and horror that it engendered,  even though I had thought (prior to the visit) that I knew what I was in for.  I am deeply impressed by stance being taken by the Imperial War Museum's Holocaust gallery which attempts to make it clear that the perpetrators of these terrible acts were ordinary members of society like you and me, they had families and children and yet they were complicit in killing people.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.