THE MIGHTY OAK IN MY FIELD

I had a lazy “get-up” this morning and if I’m truthful was a little unhappy, when I drew back the bedroom curtains that it wasn’t raining, because I had decided that my Abstract Thursday shot would be the rain cascading down the window.  

However, I soon decided that if the sun was going to continue to shine, then the least I could do was get out and enjoy it, especially as we hadn’t been out since last Saturday, mainly because when there was snow on the ground, we didn’t want to risk breaking any bones. 

Mr. HCB had already been up for sometime, as always, so when I came downstairs and told him I was going out for a walk, he said he would come with me.  I told him that I wanted to go over to my field, so after we had put all our gear on, including our sturdy walking boots, off we went.  It wasn’t that cold, but the field was particularly squelchy and boggy today, obviously as a result of the snow melting and all the rain we have had in the last few days.  All Mr. HCB kept saying was that we need some dry weather and how wet it was.

I realise now why I prefer going over to my field on my own, because every few steps, Mr. HCB was saying things like, “It’s very boggy just here” or “Mind that huge puddle” until I told him that if he didn’t like it, then he shouldn’t have come!  I wanted to take photographs but he kept muttering, so I hope that perhaps tomorrow he will decide to stay at home and work in the garden, and leave me in peace to wander around my field.

We walked through the nearby housing estate and decided to come back via the large roundabout that is at the back of our house, so that we could see all the work that had been done on cutting back the trees.  The workmen have done a very good job and it will certainly enable the daffodils and other plants underneath to grow, although I daresay the daffodils have been trampled down somewhat, but they tend to be very resilient.

The collage shows the wonderful, mighty oak tree in my field and you can see at the bottom left how much water is lying there.  It was good to be out in the sunshine and although we got rather muddy and the bottoms of my jeans are wet and caked in mud, I realise how much I have missed going out for a walk.  Let’s hope that the sun shines tomorrow so that Mr. HCB can go into the garden and I can then go and tramp in the mud and puddles as much as I like (bless him)! 

“The strongest oak tree of the forest 
     is not the one that is protected 
          from the storm 
               and hidden from the sun. 
It's the one that stands in the open 
     where it is compelled to struggle 
          for its existence against the winds and rains
               and the scorching sun.”
Napoleon Hill : 1883-1970
American Author

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.