A Bend in the Creek

Once all of the icy, sleety slop was off the roads, we took my husband's car out for a spin. Our destination was Port Matilda, a town not far away, in pursuit of hoagies! There is a market there that has a deal: 2 x 12-inch hoagies for $9. They also sell Ritchey's milk and other dairy products, and they have some of the best prices and selection we know of on snacks.

So lunchtime found us out and about. My husband went in and ordered the hoagies, and picked up some milk and potato chips, while I sat in the car. There is an old, abandoned hardware and sporting goods store on the main drag, painted in bright shades of yellow and blue, and I sat looking at it as I waited.

I noticed a blue bicycle on the porch, and it fit in just beautifully with those bright shades, so I decided I had to take some pictures. In the extras you may find my favorite one. I call it: Study in Blue and Yellow, With Bicycle.

Then we made a brief stop along Bald Eagle Creek - about 15 minutes - before heading home. We got out and walked around along the creek and strolled down to the bank, where I was able to get a few reflections shots, including the photo with ice on the creek that you see above. The creek seemed wild and cold and special, and I imagined that this scene probably has looked a lot like this for many, many years.

My soundtrack song needs to be something about a creek, so here is The Band, with Up On Cripple Creek.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.