Snow Globe

Greetings from frigid central PA, where temperatures on this morning were about 5 degrees F. The breezes were still, and the sun was shining brightly. It was perfect conditions for making frozen bubbles!

I lasted about a half-hour, until my feet and hands were frozen, and my bubble mix was so cold it was freezing almost instantly (it's more fun when you get to luxuriously watch the process.)

Notable things from this morning's adventures:

1. I worked with three batches of bubble mix on this morning: one blue, one teal, and one purple. For the purple, I mixed a new batch of bubble mix, starting with blue dish detergent and adding water and Karo corn syrup, plus 2 drops of red and 1 drop of blue food coloring. I'm not sure it really made my bubbles any purpler, but it sure did make a great big mess!

2. I actually got some of today's shots with the bubbles sitting ON the snow, and not on the plastic ornament I usually use.

3. I managed to get some shots of the Jeweled Stag gazing at my bubbles because of item 2. ("Hooray!" says the Stag! - you may see him with the tiny bubble world he's discovered, in the extras. There almost seems to be a heart shape in the snow above him but I think that's just a bunny track - the bunny can get as much as 8 feet between leaps!)

4. The sparkles in the snow gave me some really nice rainbow bokeh (bokeh is the sparkly, blurry background that looks like confetti) in a couple of the shots, including this one.

A thing I always enjoy is watching the crystal formation on the bubbles, as the surface molecules spin and move. This bubble had some patterns marching across it, and you can see them pretty well in relief against that blue shadow in the snow. I thought it looked like a snow globe.  :-)

My soundtrack song is this one: Pistol Annies, with Snow Globe.

If I could put us in a snow globe
Ooh, maybe we could let it go
And we could spin around in circles
In a world that's all our own

Here's a link to my posting/compilation of frozen bubble making tips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.