View from a Roof

It looks a lovely day in this picture but the photo was taken in a 10 minute window of blue sky and sun. The rest of the day was grey and it was fairly chilly.
I was up here, as usual this winter, clearing snow from the veranda roof. The snow from this red roof had slipped down onto the roof of the veranda and then frozen hard.  It wasn't so heavy but if I don't move it it will get heavier.  Shovelling is heavy work so I was fairly stripped down, despite the -8°C temperatures. Jan was clearing an area of the new deck at the same time, and we finished more-or-less at the same time. Jan suggested a hot drink outside, on her now snow free seat, but I was a little chilly for that so we headed inside for a hot chocolate.
It took about 3 hours to clear the roof and my first plan was to go and have the hot drink and then come out and start work on another roof. In the event, once inside I felt how tired I was, and instead of going out to do more work I fell asleep on the sofa.
My step count was an abysmal 3300 steps but you don't walk around much on a roof, and why should I allow a smart phone app to dictate my life!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.