TMBKLYN

By TMBKLYN

Orange You Glad I Didn't Say Banana?

I have the good fortune to have been asked to keep safe a 42' x 42" vintage metal advertising sign for Orange Crush Carbonated Beverage. It is simple, bold and intriguing...especially when I zoom in to take close ups of different portions of the sign. For, example, like this one. I can also zoom in create the words "rage" or "carb" and so on. This piece is so compelling that I almost believe I actually would enjoy an ice cold bottle of Orange Crush. Which, if I remember correctly, would have been an 8 ounce serving similar to the original bottles of coca cola. (anyone know how big or small they were?) But, alas, I don't drink soda and have a deeply routed aversion to "orange flavored" anything. I do, however, love oranges...all kinds...but I like the real stuff...and I like it dipped in dark chocolate. Oh dear...I best not get started on foods I like...that list goes on forever! I'm not sure if Mayor Bloomberg's initiative to limit the size of single serving portions of soda in NYC has made international headlines, but it goes into effect in just about two weeks time. He has been aggressive in trying get and keep NYers healthier than they have been known to be and to help us all get off the road to obesity. With that in mind he has forced most restaurants to note calorie counts on their menus. I love this and I actually miss it when I travel outside of NY. Seriously, I do. I admire Mr. Bloomberg.

Did you know that in NY you can order a 32 ounce glass of soda to accompany your meal? 32 ounces!!! That's enough for 5 people! And, if the knowledge that as 24 ounce serving of soda has 16 packets of sugar in it doesn't encourage you to downsize to an 8 ounce glass, then hopefully the thought of how much sugar is in a 32 ounce serving does. There has been much debate and many nay sayers who gripe that Bloomberg has taken away everyone's right to eat as they like. Whether they are informed about the negative effects or not. Ignorance, they believe, is not only a right, but bliss. To them, I say, have your 32 ounce serving of soda, but you'll need to do so one serving at a time. Does one need 32 ounces or does one order it because it is available and a GREAT (and I mean GREAT) value. CLearly the soda companies and restauranteurs move more of the carbonated sugary drink by making it extremely cost effective. Think about how ludicrous that is and try to come up other items you might order in a restaurant for which the same logic applies. I'll have the 32 ounce filet mignon for merely 20% more than the 8 ounce petit cut. Oh! You can't do that you say? Well...what about 3 side dishes of spinach for 20% more than the cost of one? Okay...enough...I'm off to have my breakfast...which will not include that much of anything! But, before I go, I want to share that Mayor Bloomberg has made it known that when he leaves office he will focus on using his self-made billion to promote better diets across the globe. Having put aside a bit of money for each of his family members to inherit, he fully plans to spend all of his self-made fortune on this nutrition focused campaign.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.