A Sad Day

Well, it was actually a really nice day until late this afternoon. I had a very pleasant virtual coffee date, a walk (my first in more than 2 weeks because of the knee procedure) with a friend who has been away in the warmth of Southern California for three months, and a lot of work and some great meetings. 

I was randomly scrolling through FaceBook late this afternoon when I came across a dear friend's posting that her husband had died. Carol was one of my best friends growing up and we became closer and closer, eventually buying a duplex house together with our spouses when we were first married and oh so very young. We raised our children together when they were young, but as sometimes happens we drifted apart, particularly when I moved out west. She lives in Massachusetts where we grew up. But we reunited in summer 2019 at our high school reunion. I stayed with her for several days. Her husband had been dealing with serious cardiac issues for a number of years and was partially disabled because of it. But we had a marvelous time together and Carol knew that time was short. It's a miracle, according to his cardiac doc, that he lived so long. He died yesterday, having said his goodbyes, and at peace. 

I called Carol as soon as I saw her post and we talked for an hour about memories and cried many tears. I'll go stay with her as soon as Covid allows. So this sweet crocus that I found in the garden today is for Steve. May you rest in peace. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.