curns' corner

By curns

Smart TV

A few years ago I lived in a house with a slow internet connection. I couldn’t watch the shortest of You Tube videos in low resolution without continual buffering. This image is my TV tonight and I think a fast and reliable network connection has changed my TV consumption. Apparently, they’re Smart TVs these days.

At home, we are now spending most evenings watching something streamed, although we’re not extreme binge watchers like my parents seem to have become: they’re often telling stories of heading to bed at 3am after getting caught up in some detective drama. It seems that “just one more” isn’t just for kids.

I am fascinated how even viewing a live TV show is often done through the internet rather than via the broadcast television. The ‘start from the beginning’ feature of some BBC programmes is really smart but my TV is still dumb. I need to press buttons to get something I want. Somehow, I suspect a really smart TV is not that far away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.