As all the snow had melted and rain was pouring down I stayed home a large part of this day. Immersed in reading a very consoling and inspiring book: Warum gerade du? (Why just you?) written by the Austrian life-coach Barbara Pachl-Eberhardt. It is all about destiny, loss, mourning, pain, existential questions, resilience., love of life.  As a young mother she all of a sudden lost her soulmate, husband and both of their young kids. A tragic caraccident on Maundy Thursday 2008.
This is her second book on all the big questions of mourning written some six years after the desaster. Before – in 2010 – she published her lifestory „Vier minus Drei“ (Four minus Three). Her first story on finding her way back into life became a bestseller. Last year Willemien and I had seen her in a German Talkshow. We were very impressed by the spiritual and playfull presentation of this remarkable great woman. And Willemien wanted to read her then recent publication on creative writing “Federleicht”(Feathery) (2017).
I had almost forgotten that She had been reading intensely in this big workshopbook which by chance I found back on one of her bookshelves, the bookmark left about halfway. As I did not yet felt ready for the big workshop, I  preferred her story of learning to cope with such an enormous loss. I’m still a bit speechless after my first reading and I had to go for a walk along the the Diemelriver in Helmarshausen, the medieaval town not far from here.
The River would be swollen and wild at the cataract. Willemien would have liked to go for the wild waterpics. As she would always take the black&white images and then reproduce the capricious figures of the still by sketching, chalking, designing with charcoal on big papersheets. 
So indeed, you can see the wildness of the whirling waterpower, racing and splashing over the boulders of the fall. Such an abundance! I followed the River walking over the ramparts. It had stopped raining and after visiting the medieaval church I saw the sun breaking through the grey and blue sky. What a surprising contrast....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.