The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Work in progress

I met J in town today. We had a quick wander around the essential shops (dull) and a cuppa (tea for me, hot chocolate for her) and admired the new mural being painted in the Five Valleys centre, aka the Merrywalks centre. I've been blip-documenting this shopping centre for years, as it is undergoing a complete transformation.
The artist said that her parents are friend of the owners of La Cantina, the Mexican food stall, but she was hoping to pick up commissions from other stall owners. She added that it was the first time her work will have been seen in a public arena. I wish I'd asked her name.

Got home and completed a job application for a very part time job in a well known chain of newsagents/stationers. Felt very tired but pleased to have sent it off, even if ten thousand other people are applying. I don't know when my market stall or weekend youth work can resume, that's why I'm enquiring. But there are plenty of greetings cards for sale on my website if you are interested, see www.helenascards.co.uk

The news re. my mother in Scotland is that she is becoming increasingly forgetful. She booked my youngest sister to take her to get Coronavirus first jag appointment next week, then she booked someone else as well. When sister asked her if that wasn't a bit mad she said, 'oh, but I am mad' and reported some of her recent incidences of forgetfulness. My sister is booking her in for a dementia test. It's likely that she's extremely stressed and this what is causing her memory loss, but we can't rule out dementia. Her husband is still not expected to get any better in hospital, and I hope that his daughter is still staying. It's an anxious time for everyone in both families.

Talking of the vaccine, Steve is getting his first jag tomorrow. I passed the new vaccination centre today. Queues and marshals everywhere. Grey plastic trays, socially distanced ranks of chairs, men in hi-vis waistcoats, women with clipboards and phones. Airport-style barriers. Gazebos. Pens that get sanitised after use. It's the same at the pop-up testing centre at school, and at Gloucester Royal Hospital, where I had my vaccine. A combination of field hospital and airport. All the bureaucracy of airport security, with none of the anticipation of flying. Just jagging, and gagging as you swab your tonsils three times.

I don't want to sound depressing. I just need to record these times so I don't forget the details. Life will not always be like this. https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2021/jan/29/history-forget-pandemic-spanish-flu-covid?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Other

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.