Beewriter

By Beewriter

36 Years!

Aww Shelley had her last day as a full time donor carer today. She has taken retirement and after a couple of weeks she comes back on a two day week. She has worked for NHSBT for thirty six years and so she deserves some time for herself now.

It was a good day today, but it had a few hiccups along the way. I drove the lorry to Burnley Football Club as the session was there. We unloaded and took the fifteen cages one at a time up in the slow lift to the room. It was freezing up there as the heating had broken. After various calls between Aram and the manager it was decided we would change to Crow Wood Hotel so we took the fifteen cages back down the slow lift and I reloaded the lorry. We drove to Crow Wood...a lovely hotel and a much nicer room for us to celebrate Shelley’s special day.

Jeff kindly unloaded the lorry for me when we arrived and we had a short afternoon. We had balloons and banners and non alcoholic fizz, cakes and sweets and brownies and chocolates. I’ve been so good lately with all my walking and soup making and I’ve lost half a stone, but I did indulge today...it would have been rude not to. Lol.

We had a lovely day and Shelley enjoyed it.

The balloons were fab.... but Janet spelt Shelley’s name wrong and it made me twitch every time I looked at it as she had put ‘your retired’ instead of ‘you’re retired’.

So yesterday I drove to Buxton, the furthest session we do south and today it was Burnley, one of the furthest sessions north. With an extra day thrown in this week I am officially knackered now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.