Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

What a beautiful day it was!  It was sunny and close to 60F with a mild breeze.  The forecast was for heavy wind but I decided to go anyway and it never happened. :-)  I rode 31 miles and didn't even need a jacket - but I did have on a few layers.

Main collage:

Top Row:       Sign at the Hall Ranch trail head.  I hope you can zoom in and read it.  All of the shots were around that area.  Sadly, E-bikes aren't allowed on the trails.
                        Common Goldeneye.  I haven't seen anything but Mallards so it was kind of exciting
                         View up one of the trails.  It killed me not to be able to ride on it!
Middle:            American Kestrel
                         Trixie and me.  I probably shouldn't have taken this while I was riding but I was very careful. ;-)
                         Red-tailed Hawk
Bottom:           Shoe cleaning station at the bottom of the trail to remove noxious weeds from the trail.
                         Juvenile American Bald Eagle
                         South St.Vrain River

The extra collage is a bunch of interesting things I saw in and around Lyons, the small town at the base of the foothills.  The town sign says "Twin Gateways to the Rockies" because there are two canyons that lead out of town into the mountains.  Hall Ranch is in the south canyon.

I am grateful for a beautiful day in the middle of winter!  Two days ago there were 3 inches of snow on the ground and a high temperature of 30F.  There will be a few more nice days before the snow next week so I might get another ride. :-))

Thank you to everyone for visiting my journal and for stars and hearts yesterday and today.  I really appreciate all of them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.