Bird Watching

When I looked out first thing there were all sorts of little birds in the bushes behind the feeding station. A robin, a great tit, a couple of blue tits and I think  our resident blackcap was there too. Then they disappeared so I let Cato out.

I've hardly seen a thing since then apart from a couple of magpies. I hate magpies. I'm sure they're not really any worse than any other corvids, many of which I quite like. It does seem to be that they're the ones you notice emptying birds nests and generally being evil.

I thought I had the bird table well defended against larger birds but obviously magpies are cleverer than pigeons and suchlike. This one's been coming and going for most of the day, feeding himself then bringing his wife to tuck in too.

It hasn't been the right day to do my Big Garden Birdwatch count, you can do it any day from 29-31st Jan. It's been throwing the rain down all day so I'll probably do it some time tomorrow. I don't think it'll be a massive count like I used to get a few years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.