Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Misty Mountain Hop

Coming towards a conclusion of my personal February challenge to use iconic song titles as a loose inspiration for my blip, I was determined to use a Led Zeppelin title but didn't want to use 'Stairway to Heaven' because it's so overused. Today was looking a bit misty so I headed up to Haytor (probably the nearest we have to a mountain) and as I climbed up from Bovey Tracey I realised it was going to be very misty. When I parked the car I couldn't even see where Haytor Rocks were but I knew I would be able to find them because all the paths between gorse and bracken lead there. I have a handheld GPS so I marked my position to ensure I could find the car again. It's a little safety habit I've got into in wild places and while this part of Dartmoor isn't particularly wild in normal circumstances, mist and fog is a different matter.

Finding the rocks wasn't difficult because as I got up the hill I could hear the sound of young voices at playground volume so that aided my direction finding. It also helped my pedantic mind as I had wondered about the 'hop' part of the title. Anyway it certainly sounded as if a party was going on if not a hop and you can see some of them on the rock face.

It was darned cold up there and I didn't stay long but still came away with my fingers frozen. I hope the school kids didn't get frostbite!

'Misty Mountain Hop' was on Led Zeppelin's 4th album sometimes called Zoso after the symbols.

I'm going down to St Mawes in Cornwall for a few days tomorrow. I've got an idea for something that will hopefully provide me with the final song title blip.

I hope you're having a good day.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.