More snow; happy dog

Another overnight covering of snow. The poor sheep who had their grass back, have now lost it again. There was a bitterly cold wind blowing all day too, with only intermittent sunshine, so temperatures hardly rose. Reg seems quite happy to be out in it but was a bit disgruntled that I didn't throw any snowballs for him. I'd forgotten to take my gloves out with me, and it's a treacherous walk up the slope to the house, so unfortunately I declined to go and fetch them! He came back indoors with icicles hanging round his ankles. Later in the day Barry took him up to Mary's to fetch in her coal and a quick walk. He also delivered the hat I'd knitted for her. He didn't say whether she liked it or not as he was too excited about a local history book she lent him, which includes some of his distant relations. 
After many phone calls and arrangements made, mum is now back at home. The carer duly arrived, cleared and cleaned her fridge, took out the rubbish and changed her bedding. She also offered to make mum a cup of tea and a sandwich. Mum accepted the tea, but the hospital had sent her home with a sandwich, fruit and fruit juice so she was all set for the evening.  The Red Cross had also contacted her to make sure she had all the essentials she needed. She is very happy to be home and looking forward to a night in her own bed. She said just the effort of getting home had exhausted her. This is hardly unsurprising as she's spent the majority of the last ten days in bed! Tomorrow I'll find out what she needs and get some shopping ordered for her. 
Around all this I did manage to get a couple of craft items ordered and cut out three LunaLapins. I didn't manage a walk as the lane had been gritted but not cleared and I didn't want to chance slipping. I'm hoping I'll be able to get in a decent one tomorrow as the sun is supposed to shine and will hopefully melt at least the ice if not the snow, which is not too thick this time.
I caught up with a bit of TV this evening. The Graham Norton Show from the previous evening, and an episode of the Farmer's Country Showdown. I've been recording the latter each weekday as it's on during the afternoons and I'm never ready to sit and watch until at least 7pm each day. I find it quite amazing at times how some of these people keep going despite the odds and all the difficulties that farming throws at them. As most of them say it's a way of life not a job, but they still need to earn a living.
I've now started knitting Barry a sweater, it could be a long haul!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.