Big Garden Birdwatch

After the 24 hour rain of yesterday, it was lovely to see sunshine this morning, even though it was flipping freezing! So I set up in the shed to capture some birdies on camera while counting them for the RSPB Birdwatch.  Surprised to have a good amount visiting today as normally they all go missing for the weekend! No new varieties though but there were good numbers of house sparrows, blue tits, starlings, dunnock, great tits, jackdaws, wood pigeons and collared doves.

There was disaster though when a rather large woodpigeon landed on one of the bird feeders that was attached to an old tree  that was covered in ivy - I heard the crack so the stump started to list badly so we've had to break it down and reattach the feeder pole to the remaining stump!  Glad I've just recently ordered some new bird tables as they are much needed!

So an hour spent in the garden turned into nearly 3  - I planted some primroses and snowdrops too, while bunny pruned some lavender! -  so this afternoon will be spent trying to thaw out! I still can't feel my toes!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.