jessicadanielle

By jessicadanielle

Dreary January is Over

Today is the last day of January. I don't know if it's just me, but January always feels like the month that drags on. It's as if it never ends! However, this year, it felt just the opposite. It seemed to fly by. But, that's the story most days. I have no idea where the time goes. 

I remember when I was growing up, adults would tell me that as you get older, time goes quicker. You can barely distinguish one day from the other, and before you know it, your whole life just seems to have flashed before your eyes. 

I can honestly say that most of my early adulthood was like this. I can't remember what was different about each week. I fell into a routine that was so mundane, it was predictable. Tell me a given week, and I have an idea of what I was doing - but I don't remember the day itself. 

The last year and a half, that has all changed. Steven and I gawk about it all the time, but you could literally point out any month and any rough day in the last 1.5 years, and we will be able to tell you exactly what we doing and where we were. We've made so many exciting, significant memories in the last bit of time. There's nothing mundane or boring about our lives right now.

Well, except for this second COVID lockdown. My days are finally beginning to blur together again.

I feel really lucky today. I feel lucky that I was in a position to quit my job, and find a new, remote one while I travel the world. I feel lucky that I'm strong and young, and that means I can spend the night on sleeper trains and chase down flights with a 60L backpack on my back. 

I feel lucky that I get to eat and drink whatever I want, whenever I want. I feel lucky that I am 26 years old, with the world at my feet. I'm lucky to be able to do whatever I want, whenever I want, with a man that supports and loves me with every fiber of his being. This is true freedom, it's real *bone deep* happiness, and it's a feeling that I didn't really know existed. 

So, on this last day of the month, I feel happy. I feel positive. And I'm going to hold onto that feeling as long as I can! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.