CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Goldcrest feeding in the ivy

I've been watching birds from the cabin in the garden as part of the RSPB's Garden Birdwatch event this weekend. I had my camera but was keen to assimilate the range of birds and their numbers rather than just take pictures. I sit in the open doorway looking south-west with the main Golden Valley and the houses on the slopes at Butterow as a backdrop.

The day was mostly overcast after some brightness early in the morning. By the time I'd finished late in the afternoon it was snowing fairly heavily although little of it was settling as the temperature was above freezing.

There were some interesting interludes and I was pleased to see a great spotted woodpecker coming to the feeders again. It hasn't been visiting often this winter so I hope it will hang around for the springtime and bring its young to the garden as it used to do. I'm talking as if it is the same bird but that is probably an illusion.

Behind the feeders is a wooden fence which is gradually being covered by the neighbours rampant ivy. She also has a couple of trees and the ivy is covering their branches as well. I noticed some unusual movement in the shadowy leaves of the ivy and turned my attention and camera towards it. 

I couldn't make out what bird was in there for several minutes untilk then suddenly this lovely and tiny goldcrest emerged to have a look at me. I was delighted. I've only seen one in our garden before. A good addition to this year's Birdwatch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.