Barden Fell

It's been one of those rare days when - dare I say it while there are still a few hours of it left - everything has flowed. The highlight was being able to introduce Forrest to a favourite route of mine, a circuit of Barden Moor. It was cold, and icy underfoot in places, but I managed to stay on my feet for once! Hitting the ridge above Rylstone and Cracoe, the wind picked up, the temperature dropped, and suddenly we were in a whole different world. I'm grateful that my son was patient enough to allow me to stop and take a couple of pictures. It was weather for keeping moving. I love this ridge with its improbably shaped gritstone outcrops. We can actually follow the line of the ridge from our back window at home - with a pair of binoculars.

We're at the stage now when Forrest's slow and steady ten-mile pace is a maxed-out effort for me! I can't complain as I've been looking forward to this moment for many years. Once home, we were able to enjoy a wonderful 3-1 win for Leeds away to Leicester, not having to hear Roam's cursing but able to imagine his whoops of delight when some beautiful goals were struck. Win or lose, Leeds never fail to be entertaining. My youngest was made up when I spoke to him afterwards.

Finally, made good progress towards a writing deadline. Almost there now and will soon be able to take a break and get on with some other things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.