The Road Well Travelled

With more snow forecast for tomorrow, I thought I'd better get a bike ride done on what turned out to be a beautiful day. I waited until lunchtime for the sun to work on the frost but still managed to find a disconcerting number of icy patches on the back roads where they were in the shade. My battery-powered socks worked well. All I need now is the same for my hands. My fingers were frozen at the end of the ride.

Feeling a bit fragile of late, it's been either too cold and dangerous, or too wet and windy to entice me out. It's quite a few weeks now since I've had a ride and I could feel that in the lack of power through the pedals. I just did my regular route to Burnsall and back, which was plenty far enough. 

That's all meant that I'm behind schedule again and low on energy. Winter riding takes it out of me. But it was worth it. Heavy snow forecast here for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.