Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Take-off

It was the weekend of the RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch and, just as I settled down on Sunday morning for an hour with a coffee and a notepad, the cat from No. 6 rolled up and made herself comfortable on the wheelie bin. (They know, you know!) The local birds decided to seek their nourishment elsewhere and my feeders hung untouched until feline boredom set in and she wandered off in search of other excitement. After a while, normal service was resumed and I got my survey completed for another year. (Numbers a bit down, I thought.)


That done, and Sunday morning worship viewed on my laptop, I went out for a walk. A short drive over to Head of Muir and then a circuit around Chacefield Wood, which was surprisingly (to me) icy underfoot in places.



A fellow Blipper had mentioned earlier that there were some bird-feeding stations on one of the side paths, so I made my way down that on my way back. It was the avian equivalent of Sauchiehall Street on Christmas Eve (well, not last Christmas Eve obviously!) as the bird feeders were in constant demand. There were so many comings and goings it was hard to keep tabs on all the activity. I stood for a while just watching, then set the camera to 'burst mode' and fired away. Much deleting required on Monday morning! This picture of a coal-tit just about to fly off survived the cull and is my nod to Birdwatch 2021, even though it wasn't part of my domestic count.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.