My new toy

Can't find my pruning saw anywhere, probably buried in the undergrowth of the garden somewhere. I do want to give the Hawthorn and Bay Laurel a good trimming so decided I'd treat myself to a chain saw. 
It was 'Hildasrose' gave me the idea when she blipped her husband with a handheld mini chain saw.
It was delivered this morning, it's long, and extendable to be even longer, which is just what I need for the tall trees and bushy Laurel.
I had a practice, took a branch off the Copper Beech and one off the Hawthorn but the green garden waste bin was then full so I'll do some more over the next fortnight or so.
It works very well but I learned that you need to cut off workable chunks, it's not easy to cut it up into smaller pieces on the ground as there's nothing to keep the cut off branch still!

You can see in the extra how tall and overgrown it's all become at the back of the garden.
Even the Loquat, on the left, is getting rather large. That was grown from a seed that I brought back from the fruit bowl in my hotel room when I spent some time in Beirut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.