Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

Photographic disaster day

I planned to take a few bird photographs in the morning, and then mess around with some lighting accessories in the studio in the afternoon. For the bird photographs I use a camera on a tripod either on the patio or just inside the patio doors, using either tethering to a computer or an app on a phone. But I had immense problems getting any of the computers, phones, tethering software and apps to make a connection to any camera (2 Sonys and a Fuji), and even when I got a connection it dropped the connection within a few minutes, and batteries kept going flat very quickly. All the messing around also meant that no birds came most of the time. Eventually in early afternoon I resorted to using an Olympus OM-D E-M1ii with the Olympus software, which I got set up and working in under 10 minutes, and which worked perfectly - except that no birds came!  It has to be said that even when the computers, phones and apps are working properly the Olympus tethering software is by far the best (and free), and the phone app for the Olympus is very giid too.

I guess the answer is to live up to my 'handle', micro43, and give up on the other systems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.