Lock 26

Today I needed to be by some water ... and puddles won't do! So I popped a couple of miles down the road to the Basingstoke Canal, and walked along the tow path adjacent to the Deepcut Army Barracks, which are now being redeveloped as a new "village" (i.e. lots of boxes in with pocket-hankerchief bits of land around them :-( ).

I knew there was a lock (#28) along the path where I could cross and take a circular walk back, but having got there I felt the need to stretch my legs further. Checking Google, there appeared to be another lock nearby, so carried on walking. Then there was another, and another ....

I got as far as lock 24, with lock 23 in view (extra) before turning round for the walk back for a round trip of only just over 3 miles.  Apparently, this stretch of canal, Deepcut Flight, has a total of 14 locks  rising 100 feet over a 2 mile stretch ... another discovery courtesy of lockdown!

The main image is lock 26 which has been left open on the down side.  I do like the little hump bridges which seem to be a feature of the locks this area - much easier than the usual way I've seen of walking across the lock gates themselves to cross!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.