A tiny soldier beetle...

Another grimly grey day in the east of England - so no outdoor photography. This tiny beetle, only 6mm long, is Malthodes marginatus. It hatched out of a dead piece of hazel that we brought back from Old Sulehay Forest. This species is very common in ancient woodland, and is a much smaller relative of the bright orange soldier beetles, that can be seen mating on every flower in late summer. The yellow spots are at the end of the elytra, and beyond them it's possible to see the mebranous wings that enable beetles to fly.

Otherwise a fairly uneventful day. We had an unexpected visit to the orthodontist because one of Ben's wires came loose. Both wires were replaced and tightened, and Dr. Huber congratulated Ben on his excellent oral hygiene - worth all that brushing and giving up carbonated drinks!

In the evening I finally decided to try and lose some weight in time for the spring. I've decided that my best approach is to cut back on carbohydrates and stob nibbling - unfortunately the food cupboard is all too accessible when working from home and I tend to eat whenever I'm bored or need a distraction. But I think that if I can avoid the kitchen during critical periods and be strict about filling in a food diary, then I might succeed. Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.