Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

View from the tower..

Backblip from yesterday.

Invited to a lunch in the BT Tower yesterday - sadly it was a very murky misty day so there wasn't much of a view. Really enjoyed the event, food was lovely and company good but I found being up there a bit unnerving! I had to bring photo ID to get in and go through airport type security.

I'm sure you'll know what the BT Tower looks like but in case not, there is some more info here. I was a bit nervous of going up in the lift but it was ok apart from the noise of the wind whistling..

The 33rd floor where we ate was circular and smaller than I thought it would be - gave me a weird feeling, being up that high on what seemed like a really narrow column. Then I started worrying about going back down in the lift and whether I'd get a bit panicky - I managed not to though, it was ok but again the noise of the wind rushing through was a little bit scary!

When I got back down, I was given a certificate to prove that I'd been up in the tower and a booklet about it.

Lost the gloss off my unusual day though by tripping up later in the day and spraining my ankle - had to get a cab to the station (£12 from Westminster to Marylebone, robbery!) buy some ibuprofen then limp to the train - luckily Gary was picking me up as I won't be driving for a week or so now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.