wetter than an otter's pocket

Sleeting all day, with a chilly northeasterly wind. Brrr! Still, the daily walk had to be done so I just did a road circuit which is just over 3.5 miles. My aim is to walk at least 3 miles every day this month, and then increase the daily distance month by month until September when Sarah and I hope to set off on the Camino, when we will be walking 15 - 20 miles a day every day for over a month.

As well as physical training, there is other preparation to be done - I have started planning the route and we have to decide what to take (and what to leave behind). But most important, I think, is to consider the actual is the idea of pilgrimage, and the reasons why we wish to make one. In some ways, you could say that the pilgrimage has already begun, as we have started along the spiritual if not the physical path. 

I had a FaceTime with my parents and brother this afternoon. Mum has been in hospital and came home yesterday, so it was good to be able to see her face. She had slept for 12 hours last night - the whole experience must have been very tiring. Dad is definitely relieved to have her back home :-) My brother has volunteered as a vaccination marshal at his local hospital and starts on Friday.

An early tea tonight as D has a Community Council meeting (on Zoom, of course).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.