They think it's all over

My granddad was proud of his stamp collection. He didn't know which ones were valuable specifically, but he knew some may be. My dad thought that these may be worth a few bob, but in fact that's all they are actually worth. The two on the outside are the original stamps, which were issued throughout the whole UK, the one in the centre is the same stamp re-printed with the ENGLAND WINNERS on top after the event, only issued in England (for diplomatic reasons) There was a speculative bubble when they were issued with them selling for more than £1, but millions were printed in the end and today you can pick them up for 10p...

I wasn't born in 1966, and I've no specific interest in football, and while I'm English I've no particular attachment to this specific game. Some people think they were actually on the playing field the way they carry on, not me.

Another super busy day at work...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.