Improving

When I bought the recumbent cycle in April last year, it came with a couple of months introduction to an app called iFit, which I then subscribed to after the intro period.  It's an American app, and it is possible to buy actual cycles that have the iFit app built in.  I don't have that, but I can select a workout on the app on my tablet, and it "Bluetooths" to my cycle, changing the resistance for me as I go through the workout.  Many of the workouts are video based, so I can travel to the USA, Japan and many other places, whilst cycling in the studio.  There is a record of all my workouts on the website.  The duration of a workout video is generally about 30 minutes, but due to our poor internet signal (Norfolk countryside is poorly served) I suffer with buffering quite a lot, so my workouts are often longer that they are meant to be.

Loosecanon recently posted a photo of his certificate for having done 1,000,000 metres on his rowing machine, which prompted me to wonder how far I have cycled.  So I created a spreadsheet.  My total distance cycled is over 1,800kilometres.  The actual distance, and the speed achieved, are very variable, depending on how much resistance is applied, and the duration of the workout, but the "average watts", whilst not being in any way comparable from one person to another, would appear to show that I have improved over the last 10 months.

I was aware that I had improved, but it's quite nice to have a visual representation of that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.