Garrya eliptica 'James Roof'

This evergreen looks nothing in a 3ltr pot on the garden centre shrub A-Z beds, but when it's matured & dripping with golden tassels, crystal chandelier like, as this one is, I reckon it would be on more gardeners 'Want' list.

Rain, sunshine, mizzly stuff, sunshine .... mizzly stuff. I got a few jobs done on the allotment this morning. My plot would be more suited to growing rice at the mo. The bark mulch between the beds means that I can weed without standing on the soil. A few of the pot marigolds needed to pulling up, otherwise, it's just a case of waiting for the ground to dry out a bit.  A popped a clay pot over a clump of rhubarb that's just beginning to show. Hopefully forcing it on. We'll see. The pigeon that munched all my purple sprouting broccoli has moved on to a plot further down the site, cheeky beggar!!! A cock pheasant tucking into some brassicas on another plot. Not mine though. I've got them meshed. :-) It's all good fun. I took some mixed seed, suet pellets, sunflower hearts, & a bit of bread up with me. The robin soon appeared. I sat in the shed with my coffee when rain stopped play. A perfect morning.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.