Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Turning the corner

Today was the day I had been waiting for. We were called to a local hospital for our vaccinations. It meant a very early start because our appointments were at 9 am.
After a tense drive, because I suggested husband followed the sat nav which took us down some very treacherous roads, rather than the direct way he said he would have taken, we arrived just in time. We were met with smiles, efficiency and kindness.

It made me think again how grateful I am for the NHS, and the staff who work for it. It saved my life when I was a child and seriously ill and hospitalised for 14 months with TB meningitis.It was there to support me through the birth of my two boys and fought tirelessly to try and extend the lives of both my parents. I will never take it for granted, and will do everything I can to ensure it continues in its current form.

On the way home we stopped off at our local beach at Teignmouth. There, in the bay, were a line up of resting cruise ships, including my favourite, the Queen Mary2. They seemed to be saying 'not long now.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.