LD 320 Theek.

I have always hated having heavy hair, and as mine continues to grow in very thickly (I suppose I am fortunate) Cathleen has kindly , in both lockdowns now, cut it for me in the absence of my  being able to visit Myra at the Hair Shop in Dunoon on a regular basis.  ,   

This is some of the debris from this morning but when I had swept it up and she was about to throw it out I happened to say  - without thinking - that  although it was a bit early in the season, maybe the birds would take it to theek their nests.

In English the word is "thatch" and of late I have become more conscious of my previously unconscious use of Scots which I suppose comes from my upbringing in Ayrshire as well as from my reading. 

There is currently some tremendous enthusiastic work on Scots being done on social media and in this Burns season I have been very impressed by hearing so much being used naturally at events  by young people who have a passion for the language.

I have never not used it because of social pressures but I suppose I have neglected to use it when I might have.     I am glad that it still comes unbidden from time to time and probably I need to do more .

So  here is my theek, in one meaning, ready to be used to theek something else. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.