Ingleman

By Ingleman

A Day Of No Consequence

Is it ever the case that there is no consequence from a day, an hour, a fleeting moment? Can the beating of a butterfly wing really  have reverberations across the world?
We had a lazy morning, Gary came to check on the stove installation, Ell popped in for a socially distanced chat, no hugs or handshakes. I went to see my brother who just needed to talk to someone, I'm glad I went but he was busily wiping surfaces as I left. Coming home I was travelling at 65mph on the motorway when an Audi went past me in a flash, my estimate was a conservative  120 mph. I doubt I have ever seen a vehicle travelling so furiously fast. The shock waves buffeted me as it flew past. Gone in 60 seconds. The myriad potential consequences of all these moments are innumerate and unknown. A year ago I would have slept restlessly and had nightmares, fretting over the domino effect of my decision making and possible mistakes. Now I sleep soundly, pleasing oblivious to the chaos that is going on in the world. It might all come to an end soon. In the next few moments, in the next year, or some time far in the future. For now I am chilled. Nothing happened. No car crash. No earthquake. The world, for now, still keeps turning.

I am so pleased and thankful for the continued support, stars and comments on my daily meanderings. Always appreciated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.