Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Big Sky

I went to drop off some food for a friend from church this afternoon - a friend who’s recovering from not being well for a few months. It was Alfie the Campervan’s turn for an outing today. He’s not been driven for several weeks, maybe since before Christmas, although my car isn’t getting much more - I haven’t worked in over a month!  

I stopped for a walk on the way home. It was a beautiful day. But snow is in the forecast for tomorrow. The sunset was more spectacular than I expected. I couldn’t decide which of 5 of my favourite shots to blip. This one won but there are two more in Extra photos.

In other news:
It’s another ski weekend, from Sweden again, this time they’re in Ulricehamn. Today’s races were sprints and they kept me on the edge of my seat for a couple of hours early this afternoon. The Swedish women’s team is really strong and they had 4 of their team in the final of 6 racers, with 2 ending up on the podium. My favourite Jessie Diggins from the USA came in third.

But the men’s race - oh my!  Unprecedented! I usually find the women’s races far more exciting but not today! If you want to watch a couple of minutes of stunning racing, you can watch most of the race here.

You have to know that the Swedish men’s team have really struggled in the last few years, unlike their strong women’s team. They rarely have any of their men on the podium. So I was very happy to see their Oskar Svensson in the final 6. He was at the back for most of the race, but it was just good that he MADE it to the final 6, with others who regularly get the podium in sprint races. And then!!  Sprint races are never over til they’re over! Things can change in a heartbeat! Do watch it!  Less than 2 minutes long. Oskar is in white wearing bib 17.

I celebrated the double Swedish victory this evening by eating more Swedish food and watching a couple of concerts from the Norköping Symphony Orchestra - they’ve regularly been putting some concerts on their YouTube channel since last spring - performing with no audience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.