Rodents rule

By squirk

Sing for spring

It was such a glorious day of sunshine and dry weather. As we walked up to Streatham Common, we stopped to watch a starling in full song. Later on, by Norwood Grove, we were serenaded from above by a parakeet. Well, they don't have a song as such, but it was making what seemed to be happy noises. 

At the cafe, I treated myself to a take-out coffee and saw my upstairs neighbour also waiting. It's a very odd thing in that I never see my neighbours to talk to yet we share a hallway and door, and we often know what room they're in from the footsteps. It's oddly intimate living experience yet I can count the number of conversations we've had on one hand! It was very much small talk, mostly about the amount of mud in the park and how that doesn't mix with an almost three year old toddler who wants to run around.

Back at home and I planted more than a hundred allium bulbs that I've been meaning to plant for a few months. The soggy ground made for a different planting experience to November when I planted the daffodils – the dibber dibbed with ease. I hope the squirrels don't undo all my work.

The temperature dropped later in the day. I knew this because the cat couldn't get close enough. He's a handy weather gauge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.