Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Spotted Laurel

Lockdown 3.0  Day 34 

Well, the cold air from the east arrived today, but little rain and certainly no snow to speak of, but then we are on the west coast so hoping to avoid all of that chaos this time.  
I walked around the garden this morning, checking for signs of new life, (but only because I was out there anyway emptying the kitchen caddy into the compost bin). We have a few more bulbs poking through but I think it will be a while before any new colour arrives. There are still pools of water all over the beds. I hadn’t realised just how bad the drainage was until we removed a lot of the geraniums last year that always cover the ground.  And to think, I planted a load of bulbs where this water now lays. I suspect most of them will have rotted by now.....oh well, it can’t all be a success first time out can it! 
Today’s blip is the Japanese Aucuba, commonly known as spotted Laurel. This hides down in the bottom corner of the garden and is the only thing that has any colour at the moment. Shame we can’t see it from the house. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.