madowoi

By madowoi

Bridge at Jordan Pond

Rather forced myself to get out today before any more snow came on, and was some glad I did. The snow was that perfect, thick, crusty type that covers everything like asphalt. You could just veer off into the woods and walk anywhere easy as you like. 

Came down the gap between North and South Bubble, which I normally wouldn't try in the winter because of ice. Thirty years ago I might have sat on my butt and bombed downhill, bouncing off rocks, hooting and hollering. Today it took a bit more focus and was a bit hard on the knees. Just gorgeous though.

General Impressions:

Silence,
Soft scraping of dry beech leaves, rattling in a light wind,
Barely discernible tapping of an invisible downy,
Solitary crow in the far distance,
Explosion of footsteps on the frozen ground as I hike on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.