Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Another first. But I won't count it.

Did my 1km this morning. I must have swum to Portobello by now... At one point there were only two of us the whole half pool that didn't have lanes. That's like a whole normal pool each! Brilliant.

As usual, to pass the time, I plan my day, if I haven't already. Today I thought I'd go somewhere. Molly wasn't on top form yesterday and I think she didn't really want to chase silly tennis balls, but was just being polite because I kept throwing them. I thought I'd let her have a rest today and get over her tummy bug. Besides, I don't want her to get to expect me every day. I know, I know - if I had a dog I couldn't do that. But I don't. And I wouldn't.

My thoughts were to do something I have never done in all my time in Edinburgh. No - I've been up the Scott Monument. And by the time I'd got home, had my porridge and coffee, done a washing, read the Metro, it was blue skies and warm sunshine like yesterday. And the things I ordered on Amazon yesterday arrived today!! Internet shopping is amazing.

So my plan was to go across the Forth Rail Bridge and have a poke around North Queensferry (NQ) and get a shot of the bridge from the other side. Got my train ticket and I was there in no time. But as we approached Dalmeny (for South Queensferry - SQ) the sunshine disappeared and there was a pea-souper fog! When I got off at NQ and walked down to the wee harbour, I could not see the bridge at all! It was like I still had my steamed up swimming goggles on, and I kept checking that I hadn't!

I hung around for a while, and decided that I'd go back to SQ - at least there were scones there - while I waited for the mist to lift. If at all. As I arrived at the wee NQ station, a train was coming slowly in. I put out my hand to indicate I'd like to get on (I always signal buses) and he sailed right on past! Probably laughing, too. Cheek!

In SQ I spoke to several tourists gazing wistfully in the general direction of the bridge and advised them to just go to the pub and wait. I went to a 'bistro' with big windows, so that I could keep an eye on proceedings.

Big leather sofa by the fire, scone and a cuppa, and a paper. Quiet, appropriate muzak (Norah Jones) for the mainly ladies of a certain age clientele. Bliss. I had been getting quite chilled, having put on my lighter coat after yesterday's warmth.

And then... Yes! You guessed it! I was taking a bite of the scone and looked out and saw the top of the nearest bit of the bridge! The mist was clearing! I gobbled up my scone, gulped down the tea, and ran out the door. Not forgetting to pay, of course. I knew there were steps down to the beach further along, so I hot-footed it along and down to the shore, hoping it wouldn't lift too quickly. A bonus couple of swans!

I am SO tired. Each village on either side of the water is at sea level, of course. But the stations are at bridge level, which is pretty high up. So there was a fair bit of staggering up and down steep hills today.

So, technically, I have been across the Forth Rail Bridge, but as I saw not a thing apart from a few millions of rivets, I am not going to count this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.