Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Funny Hat Day?

Another 1km this morning. There were two women doing a strange upright dog paddle in the slow lane. Most annoying, as like cyclists, they were beside each other, which meant you had to pass them and time it so that nobody was coming down the other side. They were doing this when I arrived and did it constantly for 40 minutes and probably more. I tried it. I did one length. Jings! That's a killer! My legs are SO sore. My legs are used to having a pretty easy time of it, in my freestyle. But I think I'll try to do at least a length each time. It's SO sore and tiring, it MUST be good for me.

Took Molly out for a run. No runs from the rear end today, thank goodness. It was warm and still and just lovely. When I took her back, a man with a strange hat on was standing outside the pub. I was intrigued by the hat - it didn't seem to fit with his other clothes. Was it Red Nose day or something? I took a photo, but my settings were wrong, so it's not the sharpest. It was only when I got it on the computer that I spotted the other chap with a funny hat on - they had been very much in the shade when I took it. But I do like the frontage of that wee pub. It was either that or Molly with a close up her gooby tennis ball...

On the way home I had a chat with the man doing the markings on the putting green (he was lamenting the lack of money to drain a couple of big puddles on the green that won't go away but there's no money for parks. Yes, the T* word was mentioned!), the man sweeping up outside the shop (he was lamenting the behaviour of the school children hooligans in his shop and dropping litter outside), the man cleaning the roads in our area (I said he might as well start again at the beginning). A big box of Maltesers jumped into my hand in the shop. I'm supporting Red Nose Day! greedy!

I was quite overwhelmed at the response to yesterday's misty swans. I don't think I've ever been Number 1 in the Spotlight before. So kind of you all. And the moral of yesterday's tale is: Never give up. Have tea and a scone and something might happen. And if it doesn't - well, you've had tea and a scone anyway.


* Trams - for those not in Edinburgh. Causing chaos in the city and costing billions and billions of money we don't have.

AND nobody wanted them!

Sorry. Don't get me started...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.